The Emeritus members of the Terry College Alumni Board annually honor a graduating senior with the “Student of the Year” award. This special award is presented at Terry’s Honors Day ceremony to a student who best demonstrates the skills and commitment required to succeed in college, business, and life. Nominations are CLOSED for the 2024 Terry College Alumni Board Student of the Year Award. The deadline to nominate an outstanding Terry College student was Friday, January 12, 2024.

Eligibility and Qualifications

Candidate must be a Terry College Senior (graduating in the 2024 class – Spring, Summer or Fall classes are eligible). Strength in these areas are weighed:

  • Academics: Minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 in the Terry College of Business.
  • Terry Involvement: Community and Terry service (volunteer involvement).
  • Leadership: University involvement/leadership (club, sports, band, etc.).
  • Financial Responsibility: Element of financial self-reliance (working, internships, scholarships, summer job).
  • Soft Skills: Recognized and respected leader, respects and honors fellow students, respects and lives a life consistent with the University’s Honor Code, consistently represents UGA and Terry at school, work, home and socially.


We invite Terry faculty, staff and students to nominate outstanding students for this award.

To be formally considered for the award, the student will be asked to provide additional information upon nomination. Emeritus Board members will review nominees and select the top five candidates for interviews. All five finalists will be recognized on Honors Day, and one student will be selected as the Alumni Board Student of the Year.

Annual Finalists and Winners


  • Tyler Ege
  • Gabriella Lewis
  • Grant McDonald
  • Eniola Olubunmi
  • Morgan Pope (Winner)


  • Patrick Gentry
  • Elise Karinshak
  • Joslyn McKlveen
  • Morgan Nascone
  • Savannah Sommer (Winner)


  • Skylar Aledia
  • Sabina Ashurova
  • Emma Biancheri (Winner)
  • Owen Condon
  • Lauren Ford


  • Amanda Lynn Arboleda
  • Brennan M. Cox
  • Zakiyya Ellington
  • Cameron Falk
  • Jan Joho (Winner)

2020 – All 5 Finalists Chosen as Winners

  • Emily Bauer
  • Jasmine Chen
  • Akhil Hazari
  • Tony Thawanyarat
  • Logan Vanderbilt


  • Chip Chambers (Winner)
  • Elizabeth Doherty
  • Steven Feng
  • Nive Gupta
  • Eric Sutliff


  • Rachel Cole
  • Fernando Arturo Cruz
  • Annie Wanyi Jiang (Winner)
  • Jillian Schmidt
  • Craig Sturken


  • Andy Abernathy
  • Laura Courchesne (Winner)
  • Houston Gaines
  • Julie Spangler
  • Eli Yarborough


  • Azra Bandali
  • Alexander Benjamin Bosse (Winner)
  • Caroline Coleman
  • Alexandra Edquist
  • David Malcher


  • Olivia Anne Boggs
  • Eilidh Geddes
  • Ashley Elizabeth Gibson
  • Derek Cole Hammock
  • Wesley Roberts (Winner)


  • Brian Henry Baker
  • Muhammad Saqib Iqbal
  • Danielle Miller (Winner)
  • Shan Siddiqui
  • Shannon Vreeland


  • Grant Carlton
  • Jackson Govatos
  • Michael Heider (Winner)
  • Erin Meyers
  • Derek Ponticelli


  • Kathryn Jeanette Appling
  • Jennifer Cowart
  • Patrick Fitzmaurice (Winner)
  • David Wesley Jett
  • Brianna Lané Randall