Seven Terry College faculty members named to endowed professorships

Two of the faculty appointees are new to the University of Georgia
Business Learning Community

A new endowed professorship in the J.M. Tull School of Accounting is one of seven new faculty appointments announced this fall by the University of Georgia Terry College of Business.

The KPMG-Atlanta Partners’ and Employees’ Professorship was awarded to accounting professor Erin Towery. Endowed chairs and professorships for Towery and six other Terry College faculty members were approved by the University System of Georgia Board of Regents in August.

“These seven faculty members have developed strong reputations in their respective fields,” said Dean Ben Ayers, “What they have achieved as teachers and scholars adds value to their departments, and we are very pleased to recognize their hard work with these new appointments.”

KPMG is one of the four largest accounting firms in the world and a leader in developing curriculum for teaching technical and analytical skills to accounting students. The endowment consists of donations made by KPMG employees and supplemented by matching funds from the KPMG Foundation.

Towery came to UGA in 2013 and previously held the KMPG Faculty Fellowship. Her research interests include emerging topics in audit, taxation and corporate finance. In spring 2023, she joined the UGA Rural Engagement Workshop for Academic Faculty. This group works with UGA Public Service and Outreach to help solve problems facing rural Georgians.

In addition to Towery’s appointment:

Stacy Campbell, previously a management professor at Kennesaw State University, was named Synovus Director of the Institute for Leadership Advancement. Campbell began her role in the Terry College’s Institute for Leadership Advancement in July.

Anindita Chakravarty, associate professor of marketing, was named to the Terry Dean’s Advisory Council Distinguished Professorship. Since joining the college 13 years ago, Chakravarty has built a reputation as an expert in digital marketing and marketing performance metrics.

Marcus Cunha Jr., professor of marketing, was named the Robert O. Arnold Professor of Business. In addition to his research into digital marketing and providing award-winning instruction, Cunha serves as director of Terry’s Master of Marketing Research program.

Gregory Eaton, associate professor of finance, was named the Bradford McFadden Professor of Financial Management. Eaton joined the UGA faculty this year from Oklahoma State University and studies retail investing, valuation and institutional investing.

Josh Kinsler, professor of economics, was named the Nicholas Beadles Chair of Economics. Kinsler, who came to UGA in 2015, was named head of the Economics Department in July. His research focuses on the economics of education and educational outcomes.

Amrit Tiwana, professor of management information systems, was named the J. Rex Fuqua Distinguished Chair for Internet Strategy. Tiwana’s research focuses on information technology strategy and corporate information technology governance. Tiwana, who joined the MIS faculty in 2010, previously served as the L. Edmund Rast Professor of Business.