Faculty Recognitions, Spring/Summer 2024

sun illuminating foliage with building in background

Rob Hoyt, Dudley L. Moore, Jr. Chair of Insurance and professor of risk management and insurance, won the 2023 American Risk and Insurance Association President’s Award. The award recognizes an individual who demonstrated distinguished, sustained and significant service contributions to ARIA.

The Georgia Ports Authority awarded Jeff Humphreys, director of the UGA Selig Center for Economic Growth, $63,122 to study the impact of Georgia’s deepwater ports statewide and in each county.

Elena Karahanna, C. Herman and Mary Virginia Terry Distinguished Chair of Business Administration and UGA Distinguished Research Professor in management information systems, received the Information Systems Society President’s Service Award. The award recognizes academics who support the information systems community across the globe.

Jen Osbon, senior lecturer in the Department of Marketing, received the 2023 Innovations in Teaching award from the Society of Marketing Advances for the Participation Competition, a teaching strategy she helped develop to increase student engagement. 

Terence Saldanha, Becky and Howard Young Distinguished Professor in management information systems, took home the 2023 INFORMS Information Systems Society Sandra A. Slaughter Early Career Award. The award recognizes early-career researchers who are on a path toward making outstanding intellectual contributions to the information systems discipline.

The Association for Information Systems and MIS Quarterly awarded 2023 best paper honors to Karahanna and MIS assistant professor Carolina Alves de Lima Salge for their paper “Algorithmic Processes of Social Alertness and Social Transmission: How Bots Disseminate Information on Twitter.” In addition, Salge won the Association for Information Systems Early Career Award, which recognizes early-career academics who made outstanding contributions to the field of information systems.

The Russell Sage Foundation awarded economics professor Ian Schmutte and assistant professor Matt Knepper $46,732 to study whether demand for workers increases firms’ likelihood of including salary ranges in their employment ads.

Siddharth Vij, assistant professor of finance, received the 2023 John W. Ryan Award for Most Significant Contribution to Community Banking Research from the Conference of State Bank Supervisors for his paper “Regulatory Risk Perception and Small Business Lending.” 

The Association for Information Systems recognized Ling Xue, Terry Alumni Board Distinguished Associate Professor in MIS, with the AIS Mid-Career Award during December’s International Conference on Information Systems. The award recognizes individuals in the middle stages of their careers who made outstanding contributions to the field of information systems.

The U.S. Department of State committed $5.2 million to a project to study and eventually stem human trafficking in Malawi and Zambia led in part by Laura Zimmermann, associate professor of economics and international affairs. Zimmermann’s research is part of the UGA-based Center on Human Trafficking Research & Outreach.