Faculty Recognition, Spring/Summer 2023

Drone Shot of the Terry College Building Learning Community

The American Taxation Association honored Ben Ayers, Earl Davis Chair in Taxation and dean of the Terry College of Business, with the ATA Outstanding Service Award. The award recognizes ATA members who provided outstanding service to the association for an extended period of time.

The Journal of Econometrics recognized Brantly Callaway, assistant professor of economics, with the 2023 Dennis J. Aigner Award for best applied-economics paper for “Difference-in-Differences With Multiple Time Periods.”

Anindita Chakravarty, associate professor of marketing, received the 2022 Louis W. Stern Award from the American Marketing Association for “Customer Orientation Structure for Internet-Based Business-to-Business Platform Firms,” published in the Journal of Marketing. The award recognizes an article that contributes to the literature on marketing and channels of distribution.

Santanu Chatterjee, associate dean for diversity, international and master’s programs and Dr. Harold A. Black Distinguished Professor of Economics, was invited to join the board of the MBA Roundtable for a three-year term beginning January 2023. The roundtable is a community of business school academic directors and educators whose mission is to inform and inspire innovation in graduate management education.

The American Accounting Association elected Margaret Christ, J.M. Tull Chair in Accounting and PwC Faculty Fellow, to serve as vice president for finance for 2023-2024. The association, founded in 1916, is the largest community of accountants in academia and works to shape the future of accounting through teaching and research.

Paul Demere, assistant professor of accounting, received the 2022 Best Paper Award at the Review of Accounting Studies Conference for “Is Tax Return Information Useful to Equity Investors?”, published in the Review of Accounting Studies.

The American Marketing Association recognized Candice Hollenbeck, a senior lecturer in marketing, with the 2022-2023 Research in Practice Award for her Journal of Consumer Psychology paper “Designing for All: Consumer Response to Inclusive Design.”

The Marketing Science Institute invited Son K. Lam, Emily H. and Charles M. Tanner Jr. Chair in Sales Management, to join the 2023 class of MSI Scholars. The scholars, 35 mid-career faculty from across the marketing science disciplines, met in Charleston, S.C., in January to collaborate and discuss the 2022-24 MSI Research Priorities.

Fadel Matta, associate professor of management and Terry Dean’s Advisory Council Distinguished Professor, was honored by the Society for Industrial and Organizational Psychology for the impact and breadth of his research. He received the SIOP Distinguished Early Career Contributions Award, which recognizes the impact of an early-career researcher’s work on the field and on the work of students and colleagues.

Tim Samples, associate professor of legal studies, was invited in January to address graduate students at the U.S. Army War College. Samples, who studies international finance and international investment and debt, presented on the Geoeconomics of Sovereign Debt in Latin America.

Ralph E. Steuer, Sanford Family Distinguished Chair of Business and professor of finance, was elected to the executive committee of the International Society on Multiple Criteria Decision Making, consisting of 3,000 members from 100 countries. Steuer studies methods and procedures by which multiple conflicting criteria can be incorporated into the management planning process.

Associate professor of accounting and KPMG Faculty Fellow Erin Towery was one of 12 faculty selected to participate in UGA’s Rural Engagement Workshop for Academic Faculty. The goal of the series is to help strengthen partnerships with communities across Georgia through increased, collaborative and focused research and scholarship.