Faculty Recognition, Spring/Summer 2018

Faculty Recognition from Spring/Summer 2018 Terry Magazine
Terry College logo

Don Chambers, lecturer and associate director of the Entrepreneurship Program, was invited to serve on the university’s Council on the First-Year Experience. The new council brings together representatives of various offices that offer programs and services for first-year students at UGA.

Margaret Christ, associate professor of accounting, won a Creative Teaching Award from UGA’s Office of Instruction. She incorporates active learning in her Accounting Systems and Data Analytics course. A couple examples: using photography to capture examples of control and employing social media analytics to demonstrate data-driven decisions.

Marianne Fortuna, an accounting lecturer, participated in a 2017-18 faculty fellowship with the Office of Service-Learning. For her project, she involved her students at UGA’s Griffin campus in creating meaningful financial information for small and emerging businesses in the surrounding communities.

John Hulland, the Emily H. and Charles M. Tanner Jr. Chair in Sales Management, is the new editor-in-chief of the Journal of the Academy of Marketing Science, regarded to be one of the premiere journals in the field. Hulland brings extensive academic publishing and editorial experience to the role.

James Kau, an emeritus professor of real estate and former chairholder, was awarded the John M. Quigley Medal for Advancing Real Estate and Urban Economics. He is the fifth to receive the lifetime honor, which recognizes scholars whose work advances the academic fields of real estate, urban economics, public finance and regional science.

Josh Kinsler, associate professor of economics, is the principal investigator on a research grant that was awarded more than $90,000 in competitive funding by the National Science Foundation. The research project will use the Millennium Cohort Study to explore the effects of parental investment and parental skills on the cognitive and non-cognitive skill development of children.

Zhongjin Lu, assistant professor of finance, was a finalist for the AQR Insight Award. His forthcoming paper in the Journal of Financial Economics, titled “Bear Beta,” was one of five recognized for providing the most significant practical insights for tax-exempt institutional or taxable investor portfolios.

Jennifer Osbon, a digital marketing lecturer, received the 2018 Lee Anne Seawell Faculty Recognition Award from the UGA Career Center. The annual award honors a professor who provides unparalleled career development support for students. Osbon was chosen based on student feedback gathered in the university’s annual Career Outcomes Survey.

Tim Samples, assistant professor of legal studies, and Jennifer Atkinson, a lecturer in risk management and insurance, were feted Feb. 21 when the Student Government Association honored the work of 10 UGA faculty members who “go the extra mile for their students” at SGA’s annual Professor Recognition Banquet.

Julio Sevilla, assistant professor of marketing, shared the inaugural Research in Practice Award from the American Marketing Association’s Consumer Behavior Scholarly Interest Group with his co-author, Claudia Townsend. Their 2016 study in the Journal of Marketing Research examined how the staging of products in a store affects consumer behavior.