On May 15, the Institute for Leadership Advancement bid a fond farewell to the Leonard Leadership Scholars Class of 2011. In celebration of the completion of their two-year journey, students joined with friends and family to reminisce about the growth and development that they have experienced.

As part of the celebration, ILA recognized the amazing accomplishments of all the LLSP students. ILA Alumnus, Chris LeCraw (LLSP 2009) was on hand to announce the winners of the following Leonard Scholars Peer Awards, nominated and voted on by members of their class.

  • The Journey Award, which recognizes outstanding progress in overall leadership development, was presented to Morgan Flanders
  • The Servant Leader Award was given to Kristen Stamps, for her outstanding contributions to community service
  • Sam Gruber and Anne Karam were named the Leader Among Leaders for outstanding demonstration of leadership

This year, ILA Director, Dale Gauthreaux recognized two recipients of the Director’s Coin, a special coin that is used to acknowledge exceptional demonstration of leadership. The first was Jeffrey Fletcher, ILA’s MBA Graduate Assistant, for offering “unwavering support in the classroom, on retreat, on service projects, and behind the wheel for any road trip”. The second recipient was Megan Gaither for “rising to extraordinary challenge and delivering results…and for the kindness and grace shown along the way.”

In appreciation, Sam Gruber and Ryan Friday presented the 2011 class gift. The tradition of a class gift was first established by the LLSP Class of 2007 and has had 100% participation each year. This year was no different. After all pledge forms were tallied, Dean of Terry College, Robert Sumichrast and Dale Gauthreaux accepted the 5-year class pledge of $38,450 on behalf of Terry College and the ILA. This gift will help to ensure that future leadership students will have the same amazing experiences as the Class of 2011.

Visit the online album to view all photos from the brunch.