Athens, GA—After a competitive application and interview process, the Terry College of Business’s Institute for Leadership Advancement (ILA) has announced their new class of 2012 Leonard Leadership Scholars. Also selected was the new class of students pursuing a Certificate in Personal and Organizational Leadership.

The Leonard Leadership Scholars Program is a highly selective two-year leadership development program designed exclusively for Terry College of Business undergraduates. Only 30 students are admitted into the program annually, which provides personalized leadership training through innovative courses, extracurricular activities and service opportunities. The student commitment creates and sustains a strong servant-leader culture that binds all of the program elements together.

The Certificate in Personal and Organizational Leadership (CPOL) is a course-based program that results in a transcript notation at the successful completion of the ILAD courses and nine additional credit hours of approved electives. Approximately 60 exceptional students from any major are admitted into the CPOL program annually. CPOL is co-sponsored by the Terry College of Business and the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences.

ILA was established in 2001 to develop a new class of business and community leaders. For the founders, "new" meant more than the creation of a replacement pool for today's leadership. It meant leaders who embraced a leadership perspective grounded in ILA’s core values of responsibility, stewardship, excellence, integrity and purpose.

ILA selected the following students into the 2012 Class of Leonard Leadership Scholars:

  • Helen Harris (Atlanta)
  • David Jett (Atlanta)
  • Muizz Mullani (Atlanta)
  • Brittany Scrudder (Atlanta)
  • Tracy Williams (Conyers)
  • Jennifer Cowart (Cumming)
  • Steve Cho (Duluth)
  • Haley Snyder (Dunwoody)
  • Kate Houghton (Fayettevillle)
  • Teneil Salmon (Lilburn)
  • David Gorvy (Marietta)
  • Davis Webb (Marietta)
  • Matthew Karempelis (Roswell)
  • Adam McTish (Roswell)
  • Emily Weinstein (Roswell)
  • Caitlin Saltonstall (Saint Mary’s)
  • Jenna Buckley (Smyrna)
  • Matthew Matuszewski (Tyrone)
  • Lars Anderson Jr. (Atlanta)
  • Maxwell Mitchell (Augusta)
  • Tyler Pate (Lawrenceville)
  • Brianna Randall (Macon)
  • Patrick Fitzmaurice Jr. (Marietta)
  • James Collins (Norcross)
  • Ethan Garber (Warner Robins)

ILA also selected the following students to pursue a Certificate in Personal and Organizational Leadership:

  • Jordan Edelstein (Alpharetta)
  • Evan Gray (Alpharetta)
  • Brittany Guthrie (Alpharetta)
  • Nathan Mozingo (Alpharetta)
  • Brett Nocerini (Alpharetta)
  • John Tew (Alpharetta)
  • Joseph Gaines (Athens)
  • Maeve Connolly (Atlanta)
  • Katherine Quirk (Atlanta)
  • Morgan Gardner (Bronwood)
  • Jacob Ohman (Duluth)
  • Lewis Hensley (Ellijay)
  • Melissa Leonardo (Kennesaw)
  • Josey Butler (Marietta)
  • Emily Collins (Marietta)
  • Jessica Seagraves (Marietta)
  • James Beach (Monroe)
  • Dorothy Prickett (Norcross)
  • Crystal Weigle (Peachtree City)
  • Michael Patterson (Roswell)
  • Justine Gillette (Savannah)
  • Jeremy Howard (Snellville)
  • Matthew Carroll (Suwanee)
  • Hannah Drum (Suwanee)
  • Maroo Ghil (Suwanee)
  • Robert Patton (Suwanee)
  • Chelsea Smith (Woodstock)
  • Katherine Black (Atlanta)
  • Alyson Pittman (Athens)
  • Thomas Wamsley (Atlanta)
  • Drake Osterhage (Fayetteville)
  • Kruti Vora (Lilburn)
  • Katie Williams (Madison)
  • Tu-Tran Nguyen (Monticello)
  • Danyelle Reynolds (Snellville)